Girl Planting seeds

HackensackUMC Celebrates 22nd Annual EMS Awards

August 2, 2013 11:21 AM

Hackensack University Medical Center recently celebrated its 22nd Annual Emergency Medical Services Excellence Awards Dinner at the Stony Hill Inn in Hackensack, New Jersey. First responders from across the county were honored for their services, and several scholarships were awarded.

“As the state-designated trauma center for Bergen County, we want to recognize the care we provide is made possible through the vital role played by the county’s EMS, police, and fire departments,” said Joseph Feldman, M.D., chairman of Emergency Medicine at HackensackUMC. “First responders are the first line of defense, often working under conditions that put them at great personal risk. It is an honor to recognize their hard work and dedication.”

In addition to awards, there were four scholarships presented: Jay Aldrin Locquiao was awarded the Emil Yannetti Scholarship; David Kornmehl was awarded the Robert D. Cirri Scholarship; Emily Davis was awarded the V.E. Ralph Scholarship; and Amanda Pirola was awarded the William DeLooper Scholarship.

The night’s award winners are as follows: 

Westwood Police Department

  • Police Officer Richard Antonacci
  • Police Officer Peter Cassells
  • Police Officer Mark Foley
  • Police Officer Michael Fortunat
  • Sgt. Robert Held
  • Police Officer Christopher Horst
  • Police Officer John Hurtuck
  • Sgt. Jay Hutchinson
  • Police Officer Dean McCarroll
  • Police Officer Niko Pieratos
  • Police Officer Sean Roche

Hasbrouck Heights Police

  • Police Officer Scott Adamo
  • Detective John Behr
  • Police Officer Sean Woodbridge
  • Lt. Charlie Lesho

Hasbrouck Heights Fire Dept

  • Fire Fighter Dave Gumbrecht
  • EMT Patrick Mucha
  • EMT Andrew Waring

Wallington Emergency Squad

  • David Popek

Hackensack Paramedics

  • Nurse Amy Werner
  • Nurse Tom Butler
  • Paramedic Joanne Piccininni
  • Paramedic Mark Schmidt
  • Paramedic Brian Moriarty
  • Paramedic Christopher Paricio
  • Paramedic Dennis O’Keefe
  • Paramedic Donald Holmes
  • Paramedic Edward Larre
  • Paramedic Frank Blatterman
  • Paramedic Jennifer Ricker
  • Paramedic Joe Cocuzza
  • Paramedic Joe Grabianowski
  • Paramedic JoEllen Buell
  • Paramedic Nancy DelMoro
  • Paramedic Purcell Charles
  • Paramedic Rebecca Taylor
  • Paramedic Rosie Roantree
  • Paramedic Sean Reilly
  • Paramedic Zack Weissman

Vanguard EMS

  • EMT Steve Fernandez
  • EMT Jacqueline Hulme
  • EMT Serghio Maza
  • EMT Agnieszka Miler
  • EMT Robert Russenberger
  • EMT Pedro Saldanha
  • EMT Christian Varon


  • Dispatcher Yaniesa Arroyo
  • Dispatcher Michael Beliveau
  • Dispatcher Sean Kennedy
  • Dispatcher Allison Murray
  • Dispatcher Christopher Saraceno
  • Dispatcher Ira Sheinman

New Milford Police Department

  • Police Officer Richard Giacobone
  • Police Officer Renzo Trapani
  • Sgt. John Moroney

Washington Township Police Department

  • Cpl. Saverio Fasciano
  • Police Officer Richard Parsells

Washington Township EMS

  • EMT Dan Eberle
  • EMT Rich Miras
  • EMT Christine Murphy
  • EMT Bea Napier
  • EMT Bob Ehlers
  • EMT Rob Kopp
  • EMT Bill Kroepke

Saddle Brook Volunteer Ambulance Corp

  • EMT Robert Osetek
  • EMT Tom Schlomann
  • EMT Robert Sloma

Little Ferry Police Department

  • Police Officer Michael Hinchcliffe
  • Police Officer Dominick Verdi
  • Little Ferry EMS

EMT Ray Cilli

  • 3rd Lt. Wendy Laverso

Little Ferry Fire Dept

  • EMT Steve Iurato
  • EMT Michael Mickendrow

Rochelle Park EMS

  • EMT Roland Jacobsen
  • EMT Jeremy Kieferle
  • EMT Ben Varghese

Rochelle Park Police Department

  • Police Officer Todd Starling
  • Sgt. Daniel Urban

Tri Boro VAC

  • EMT Alyson Baratta
  • EMT Kole Kilmurray
  • EMT Janette Levine
  • EMT Alyssa Petillo

Air Med One

  • Paramedic Arielle Gelardi
  • Nurse Joseph Reissner
  • Pilot Michael Twomey

Park Ridge Police Department

  • Police Officer Daniel Offmann
  • Police Officer Todd Stowe

Rutherford Police Department

  • Police Officer Julie Ann Zeigler
  • Moonachie First Aid and Rescue Squad St. Clare’s MICU
  • Jeffrey Garrigan

Trauma/Surgical Critical Care and Injury Prevention at HackensackUMC

  • Paul Allocco

About Hackensack University Medical Center
HackensackUMC, a nonprofit teaching and research hospital located in Bergen County, NJ, is the largest provider of inpatient and outpatient services in the state. It is the flagship hospital of the Hackensack University Health Network, one of the largest health networks in the state comprised of 1,140 beds, nearly 10,000 employees and 2,200 credentialed physicians.HackensackUMC was listed as the number one hospital in New Jersey and one of the top four New York metro area hospitals by the U.S. News & World Report, and has received nine national rankings in: Cancer; Cardiology & Heart Surgery; Ear, Nose & Throat; Gastroenterology; Geriatrics; Neurology & Neurosurgery; Orthopedics; Urology; and the Joseph M. Sanzari Children’s Hospital ranked as one of the Top 50 Best Children’s Hospitals for Neurology and Neurosurgery in the 2013-14 Best Children’s Hospitals list. HackensackUMC is among Healthgrades® America’s Best 100 Hospitals in 10 different areas – more than any other hospital in the nation, is one of Healthgrades America's 50 Best Hospitals™ for seven years in a row, and received the Healthgrades Distinguished Hospital Award for Clinical Excellence™ 11 years in a row. The medical center has also been named a Leapfrog Top Hospital, and received 19 Gold Seals of Approval™ by the Joint Commission – more than any other hospital in the country. It was the first hospital in New Jersey and second in the nation to become a Magnet® recognized hospital for nursing excellence. HackensackUMC is the Hometown Hospital of the New York Giants and the New York Red Bulls, and remains committed to its community through fundraising and community events. To learn more, visit:   




close (X)