Girl Planting seeds

Susan Zabransky Hughes Memorial Certified 5K Run/Walk to be held in Saddle River

March 23, 2012 01:49 PM


The Run for Sue Committee, a group of volunteers, is organizing the first annual “Susan Zabransky Hughes Memorial 5K Run" on Saturday, April 28 at the Saddle River Firehouse, 100 E. Allendale Road, Saddle River. The event will honor their friend, Saddle River resident Susan Zabransky Hughes, who lost her battle with cervical cancer in July of 2011 at the age of 46.  The event is being sponsored by The Friends of Hackensack University Medical Center and the Borough of Saddle River, along with the Hughes and Zabransky families.

Post-race activities for runners and walkers will include an awards ceremony and refreshments at the finish line, located at the Zion Evangelical Lutheran Church, 96 E. Allendale Road, Saddle River, NJ.

Susan, an avid runner, was treated at the John Theurer Cancer Center at HackensackUMC. Friends and family are committed to creating a lasting memorial for Susan at HackensackUMC and have pledged to raise $1 million to build Susan’s Suite, a dedicated 10-bed treatment area for cancer patients in the soon-to-be renovated Emergency Trauma Department at HackensackUMC.  The 33,000-square-foot expansion, expected to be completed in 2013, will incorporate more operating rooms, new technologies and equipment and feature specialty sections for cardiac, geriatric and trauma emergency patients, as well as cancer patients. 

For information regarding sponsorship opportunties for the Susan Zabransky Hughes Memorial 5K Run, or to register for the Run/Walk,please visit

The fee for advanced registration is $25 per entry, or $30 on the day of the race. Additional information can also be obtained by contacting The Run for Sue Committee at 551.996.3252.

The Run for Sue Committee

Front row from top: Paige Egan, Cindy Martins King, Susan ZabranskyLinda RosatoJill Bovinoand Lisa LaManna. 

Second row from top: Tracy SlayneLisa AhearnCathy NapolitanoAlice LynchJoette Fullerton, Cindy Spence andJannine DeMeritt.

Other committee members not pictured:  Gary MunkPh.D., director of Clinical Virology at HackensackUMC, Bonnie PennellJill Zabransky Russell and Ellen Zabransky Wittig.



close (X)